The historic George Parsons Elliott mansion has the best location in all of Beaufort. Situated on the premier corner of Bay and Charles Streets across from the City Marina. The mansion boasts views of the Intracoastal Waterway and is steps from Beaufort's best shops, restaurants, and water front park. The Elliott house is currently being used for office space and retail, but has potential for live-work, bed and breakfast, or private residence. George Elliott built this house in 1840. Dr. W.A. Jenkins then purchased the home before the Civil War. Dr Jenkins, of Lands End Plantation on St. Helena Island, was one of the richest men in Beaufort. Jenkins lost the mansion when he evacuated from Union soldiers in 1861. The Elliott House was used as a Union hospital during the war.
Union soldiers posted upstairs where they had a clear vantage point of the harbor. The upstairs walls still contain scribbles and drawings from the stationed soldiers. George Holmes, a Union speculator, purchased the home during a tax sale following the war. The home was also operated as a house museum by the Historic Beaufort Foundation for many years before being sold in 1995. Owning the Elliott House is owning a piece of American History.
This material is based upon information, which we consider reliable, but because it has been supplied by third parties, we cannot represent that it is accurate or complete, and it should not be relied upon as such.
Property Features Include: Historic Home, Fireplace, Central Electric, Heat Pump
Views Include: Water, Marina
Built in: 1840
Approximate Square Feet:
Roof: Metal roof.
Architectural Style: Colonial
Lot Acres: .19